Antelope Slots Canyon…a picture’s worth a thousand words

and being there was priceless.  A place where time stood still and where mother nature was in her glory.

Antelope Slots Canyon

Antelope Slots Canyon

IMG_9720

IMG_9722

IMG_9745

IMG_9752

IMG_9764

IMG_9783

IMG_9794

IMG_9808

IMG_9826

IMG_9844

IMG_9853

IMG_9872

IMG_9876

IMG_9883

IMG_9896

This was a highlight of our trip, a destination that I longed to experience for years.  They offer 2 types of tours, a rushed walk through point and shoot and a photographers’ tour (35mm camera and tripod required) that was more leisurely.  We chose the latter.  With just 2 other people and our Navajo guide from Chief Tsosie tours, who ushered us around the hordes of visitors, leaving us a few shots without the crowds in our images.  What a magical place.

Walking through ever-changing sandstone swirls, sculpted by flash floods and winds was simply awesome.

We also learned about the plight that still exists on reservations.  The power plant that is on native american soil does not supply 1 iota of electricity to the tribes.  Same goes for the water supply, they rely on well water, so droughts negatively effect their agriculture and daily lives.  Tourism is a big portion of their existence and the 2 tour agencies are Navajo owned and operated.

About maryduranteyoutt

Necessity is the mother of invention... I parlayed my work experience into my personal endeavors of photography and print- making. At the age of 56, I retired and pursued my dreams once again. Photography is my passion; I want you, the viewer to come into my world. My images will connect to you and touch each of you differently and they will have you walk away with your own version of the story I started…I try to capture the feel, the essence - the very being of my subject, whether it's a portrait of a child, a friend or a stranger. In my cityscapes, I want you to hear the footsteps on a quiet street or to look closely at the ordinary moments that we all tend to rush past without stopping to notice. This is how I look at life, at the intimate details that sometimes go unnoticed: the bright smile of a child, the hardships that some people have witnessed, the sheer joy of a dancer or the beauty of nature when you take a closer look. This is what I want to share and that is why I will continue on my path.
This entry was posted in Great American National Parks, photography, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Antelope Slots Canyon…a picture’s worth a thousand words

  1. littlepear68 says:

    Beautiful – a place I’ve always dreamed of going! Wonderful photos!

Leave a comment