Jogging my memory…

or at least trying to.  Luckily I kept a journal of the trip and am attempting to peruse it for information and recollections.  It’s not easy getting older.  I used to blog as I traveled which kept things fresh and up to date.  But internet connections were spotty at best, the days were long and free time was quickly filled with eating dinner and crawling into bed early.  Just spending a few moments on a computer and ruffling through pages of my journal these days has my eyes go bleary and my brain frizzled.   Plus not having “lightroom” program on my husband’s laptop makes going through piles of DVDs excruciating.  My laptop is on it’s way to Tekserve (thank you honey) to see if it can be fixed.  It’s old and Apple no longer carries parts for it and couldn’t help me at all.  Not feeling the love or support that Apple was once known for.

Getting back on track…  Driving to Monument Valley.  It appears in the distance, reminding me of the cowboy and indian TV shows and movies of years long gone.

IMG_9626 IMG_9622

monument valley

monument valley

We didn’t pull into the visitor’s center where I had stopped years ago, so Monument Valley was basically a drive-by.  On a personal note, on the road to Monument Valley, Baby, my silver bullet’s (2000 Mazda – Protege)  odometer clocked 200,000 miles.  Whoo-hoo.  I think I was more excited about that.

More interesting is the painted desert and the blue/grey wind swept mounds (Blue Mesas) that we came across.  I’m in awe of the beauty of nature and of how quickly the landscape changes.

IMG_9690 IMG_9687 IMG_9685

lBue Mesas

lBue Mesas

We stopped at the historic Hubbel Trading Post, petrified wood, Puerco Pueblo ruins  and the WigWam motel in Holbrook.  (No luck in booking a tee-pee motel room)

IMG_9705

WigWam motel

IMG_9703

WigWam motel

 

WigWam Motel

WigWam Motel

Jene was busy on the phone, trying to make reservations for our next destination – the Grand Canyon.  Of course the chance of getting a room at the Phantom Ranch lodge was a long shot but he tried.  We wound up at The Thunderbird Lodge on the south rim.

 

We had dinner at the Harvey’s Girls restaurant in the El Tovar Hotel (a short walk from the Thunderbird)

We traversed most of the south rim via shuttle busses and took short hikes but Jene’s hips and knees would not have fared well hiking to the bottom or back up.  The $500 pp mule ride down was above our budget and I coudn’t justify spending that kind of money if we couldn’t spend the night at the Phantom Ranch lodge at the bottom. (oh yeah and I don’t think my back would tolerate the trot on the back of a mule).

Grand Canyon south rim

Grand Canyon south rim

IMG_9725 IMG_9732 IMG_9745 IMG_9751 IMG_9765 IMG_9794

 

 

 

 

About maryduranteyoutt

Necessity is the mother of invention... I parlayed my work experience into my personal endeavors of photography and print- making. At the age of 56, I retired and pursued my dreams once again. Photography is my passion; I want you, the viewer to come into my world. My images will connect to you and touch each of you differently and they will have you walk away with your own version of the story I started…I try to capture the feel, the essence - the very being of my subject, whether it's a portrait of a child, a friend or a stranger. In my cityscapes, I want you to hear the footsteps on a quiet street or to look closely at the ordinary moments that we all tend to rush past without stopping to notice. This is how I look at life, at the intimate details that sometimes go unnoticed: the bright smile of a child, the hardships that some people have witnessed, the sheer joy of a dancer or the beauty of nature when you take a closer look. This is what I want to share and that is why I will continue on my path.
This entry was posted in Great American National Parks, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jogging my memory…

  1. pretty pictures you got there

Leave a Reply

