Heading North to Coral Pink Sand Dunes and Zion

Coral Pink Sand Dunes is a state park in Kanab, UT.  Never heard of it (neither had we).  But it was on our way to Zion and Bryce Canyons so we thought why not.  This part of the country is so vast and the terrain changes dramatically as we travel.  Flat grassy areas morph into rugged peaks and lush valleys.  Mounds of sandstone sculpted into various shapes and colors.  Blue grey hues from volcanic ash striped with reddish browns and sandstones that merged together oven ions of time.

Coral Pink Sund Dunes State Pk, UT

Coral Pink Sund Dunes State Pk, UT

IMG_0024 IMG_0040

What we found was dune buggy heaven, not the stripped down VW versions of years gone by but $35,000+ jacked upped versions.  All decked out with LED lites that sparkled like stars in the night.  The campsite was full of hugh RVs pulling trailers.  Dusk set in, we drove to an observation deck as a caravan of buggies took to the dunes disappearing over the mounds.  Vroom, vroom.  

The dust settled, night fell – the milky way and constellations splayed out above our heads.  We searched the heavens for shooting stars.  We stayed 3 nights.

Then drove an hour to Zion.  Zion with it’s majestic towering shards of red and sandstone.  Jene and I hiked  a 1+ mile Riverside trail.  He went 9/10ths of the way and I continued waded knee deep in the Virginia River.  I wanted to continue to The Narrows but didn’t want to cause Jene any undue concern that I would attempt swimming in the swift currents trying to hold my camera out of the water.  Should have brought my GoPro instead of lugging my Canon Mark II5D  We enjoyed a picnic lunch on the edge of the river.

IMG_0080 IMG_0105 IMG_0121 IMG_0125

Zion

Zion

The next day we went back to Zion.  If there’s one feeling I left with about Zion is that only in person can you visualize the magnitude of the sheer cliffs as they jut upward to the sky.  We did another hike to the emerald pools.  Which had there been more rain, may have been worth the plodding up and down the trail for 3+ miles in the heat of the day.

IMG_0182

Emerald Pools

IMG_0246 IMG_0251

Of course I wanted to see the sunrise but the fog rolled in.  We drove from one overlook to another waiting for the mist to lift.

IMG_0258 IMG_0300 IMG_0296 IMG_0295 IMG_0293 IMG_0285 IMG_0272IMG_0256

About maryduranteyoutt

Necessity is the mother of invention... I parlayed my work experience into my personal endeavors of photography and print- making. At the age of 56, I retired and pursued my dreams once again. Photography is my passion; I want you, the viewer to come into my world. My images will connect to you and touch each of you differently and they will have you walk away with your own version of the story I started…I try to capture the feel, the essence - the very being of my subject, whether it's a portrait of a child, a friend or a stranger. In my cityscapes, I want you to hear the footsteps on a quiet street or to look closely at the ordinary moments that we all tend to rush past without stopping to notice. This is how I look at life, at the intimate details that sometimes go unnoticed: the bright smile of a child, the hardships that some people have witnessed, the sheer joy of a dancer or the beauty of nature when you take a closer look. This is what I want to share and that is why I will continue on my path.
This entry was posted in Great American National Parks, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heading North to Coral Pink Sand Dunes and Zion

  1. Andrew Locke says:

    Took a road trip in ’95, and our destination was Glen Canyon Nat’l Rec Area where we camped for 9 days. We visited Arches Nat’l Park, Capitol Reef Nat’l Park, Escalante Nat’l Park, Bryce Canyon, Zion. It was beautiful and mind-boggling. It still blows my mind how little I hear about the natural beauty of UT!

Leave a Reply

