Native American Pow-wow & stuff

Friday night we had dinner at The Old Mill restaurant in Pigeon Forge, TN that our camp host, Regina, recommended .  Huge place revamped inside but I think it was all original outside.  Large portions of decent food – good value, friendly neighboring diners, who pardon themselves for overhearing our conversations with waiter and chime in about travel stories.

Pigeon Forge is the home of Dollywood,  Dolly Pardon’s theme park and I think the park is one of the reasons why Gaitlinburg became such an attraction.  I know that we should have at least driven closer to the Theme Park but it was late and we had a full day

Right below the Smoky Mtn National park is the Quella Cherokee Reservations.  I thought it would be a good place to visit since it was only on the other side of the TN/NC border.  But there was a pow-wow in the town of Cosby on our way back onto to Route 40 so we stopped there.  Jene bought some pain liniment that seemed to help his finger but has no effect on my clenched vertibrae.  The pow-wow was of mixed tribes, mostly East Band Cherokee, we talked to a couple from the Crow tribe.  Very few full-blooded Native Americans around as people blend together but they are a proud people and believe in keeping as much tradition alive as possible.  A lot of the younger people are moving back to the reservations, embracing their heritage.  The couple we chatted with made their own regalia, which were stunning.

We talked about President Jackson and the Trail of Tears.  Certainly doesn’t make me proud of my European/American heritage. Like so many other cultures have suffered under the whims of others (Tibet – Chinese, Cambodia – Pol Pot, too many to mention) they are a gentle people, warm, friendly and open.  They want to share all that they have and to talk about the history as it really was.  And I want to learn. We are on this earth to share what it gives us, not to pilage and gain so much monetary profit for the sake of our own greed.  The wind should be the source of energy and used when needed.  In our travels to Europe and the Far East, the hotel door swipe card is placed in the  slot that turns your electricity on.  There is no need to have the AC on for 10 hours while you are not in the room.  Yet we run our CA all day so that we are instantly cool upon our return from work.  (Not something I ever did,  my window AC is on a timer and was programed to come on a 1/2 hour before the first person arrived home from work).   OK I will climb down off my soap box but really we should each think of small ways to help save the planet so our grandchildren can enjoy it.

Ft Smith, Arkansas is a quiet south western town,  has a former brothel, Miss Laura’s Social Club,  as it’s visitor’s center,  the movie True Grit was based on a story of Judge Parker’s Court,  who was know as the hanging judge.

Yesterday, Jene’s friend Corey took us out on his speed boat onto Lee Creek where we went for a refreshing dip.  The water temp was @ 83 degrees.  They had the hottest August on record.  It’s going to be in the 101 today and tomorrow.   Dog days of summer.

Mary

About maryduranteyoutt

Necessity is the mother of invention... I parlayed my work experience into my personal endeavors of photography and print- making. At the age of 56, I retired and pursued my dreams once again. Photography is my passion; I want you, the viewer to come into my world. My images will connect to you and touch each of you differently and they will have you walk away with your own version of the story I started…I try to capture the feel, the essence - the very being of my subject, whether it's a portrait of a child, a friend or a stranger. In my cityscapes, I want you to hear the footsteps on a quiet street or to look closely at the ordinary moments that we all tend to rush past without stopping to notice. This is how I look at life, at the intimate details that sometimes go unnoticed: the bright smile of a child, the hardships that some people have witnessed, the sheer joy of a dancer or the beauty of nature when you take a closer look. This is what I want to share and that is why I will continue on my path.
This entry was posted in Great American National Parks, photography, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Native American Pow-wow & stuff

  1. Exciting! I’m attending one next month and I can’t wait to see the shot opportunities!

  2. Lady bonbon says:

    Oh, looks so exciting! Lucky you!

Leave a comment