It’s been 1-1/2 years since our last trip…

I must be slipping…  How did I let that happen?  Why did I let that happen?  The why is easier to answer.  Why –  life sometimes gets in the way = lack of money.  We are saving for our grandaughter’s sweet 16 BD vacation.    Sara turned 16 this past Xmas and like Rose before her, she got to choose anyway in the world that she wanted to go.  Her choice – ITALY.  And so it begins, the planning stage is underway.  2 weeks: 2 travel days and 3 cities in 12 days.  The flights are booked for the end of their school year.  We will fly nonstop to Venice, take a train to Naples, ferry over to Ischia.  Ferry back to Naples and take a train to Rome.  Nonstop flight home from there.  So much to do and see and so little time to do it in.

Sara loves history and in Italy it’s around every turn and corner.  It’ll be my 4th trip and Jene’s second.  We will be revisiting some of the places we’ve been before but with 2 teenage girls the experience will be somewhat different.

Our first time in Venice, I opted out of what I considered an unnecessary expense, an overpriced 1 hour gondola ride on the crowded grand canal.  But this time, if the girls want to, I will give them the experience.  Because of time constraints and lack of knowledge we didn’t have time to arrange Venetian mask painting classes at one of the two places that still make the masks of papier mache.  Now we know better and we will book a spot for the 4 of us.

While in Ischia, if the girls want to go snorkeling we will arrange that.  Pompeii, Mt. Vesuvius and Herculaneum bare places of interest.  If the tides and weather permit, we will ferry over to the Blue Grotto in Capri or at least spend a day on that island.

 

Rome, we will retrace our steps to the all the main attractions.

rome statue 9422

I have spent days upon days researching on the internet, reading reviews on TripAdvisor, looking for deals (there are none, this is Italy at the height of the travel season).  My preference has always been to travel off season to get value for my dollar. However when you travel with kids, you do so within the constraints of the school year.  You find yourself in the midst of throngs of tourists and very long queues to each popular attraction.  That’s just the way it goes and I am resigning myself to be a part of the masses.

I put an itinerary together for them to peruse so that Sara can say yay or nay.  After all , it’s her birthday gift and I want it to be a trip she will remember forever.

20 days and counting.  Our lodgings are booked but if seems that the midnight train from Venice to Naples in no longer on Trentitalia or EuroRails train schedule.

Ciao,

Mary

 

About maryduranteyoutt

Necessity is the mother of invention... I parlayed my work experience into my personal endeavors of photography and print- making. At the age of 56, I retired and pursued my dreams once again. Photography is my passion; I want you, the viewer to come into my world. My images will connect to you and touch each of you differently and they will have you walk away with your own version of the story I started…I try to capture the feel, the essence - the very being of my subject, whether it's a portrait of a child, a friend or a stranger. In my cityscapes, I want you to hear the footsteps on a quiet street or to look closely at the ordinary moments that we all tend to rush past without stopping to notice. This is how I look at life, at the intimate details that sometimes go unnoticed: the bright smile of a child, the hardships that some people have witnessed, the sheer joy of a dancer or the beauty of nature when you take a closer look. This is what I want to share and that is why I will continue on my path.
This entry was posted in family matters, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

