Fleeing winter

Winters take a toll on us, especially as we get older and so although we were originally planning a road trip to the Florida Keys, an invitation to spend a few weeks in Hawaii won out.

This trip we decided to fly into San Francisco, rent a car and spend a few days in Mendocino with my long time friends, Denise and Ken.  We hadn’t been to that area in 4 years.  It was a long travel day and Denise greeted us with a hot bowl of kale soup.

Days were quiet and laid back.  We gathered beach glass for my granddaughter, walked the headlands, strolled shops and galleries in Ft Bragg, ate, shared bottles of wine, laughter and watched the sunset from the deck.  Perfect!

IMG_1151 2 IMG_1170 IMG_1186 IMG_1196 IMG_1221 IMG_1228 IMG_1236 IMG_1246 IMG_1257 Ahhhh  couldn’t ask for a better way to start a vacaionIMG_1268

Next stop – the Big Island.  This was our 4th trip there, I guess the perfect weather 84 degrees and sunshine is the main reason for the return trip.

Relaxing at Hapuna beach, taking rides into Kona, Waimea and other beaches along the way.  I did cook a few nights for the 4 of us. The evenings found us sitting by the pool looking up at the sky glistening with stars.

IMG_1533

surf lookout… checking out the waves and calling surfers

IMG_1484 IMG_1537 IMG_1585

We went to some of our favorite restaurants The Blue Dragon for chicken and savory waffles, Pau in Waimea for lunch and found a new cafe in Hawi called “local dish”  A little pricey but so-o-o-o-o worth it.  I had an avocado gazpacho soup and half sandwich.  The soup was so delectable that I bought 2 containers to take home for another day.

After 2 weeks on the Big Island we flew to Maui and stayed a few days at The Bicycle Inn on the north shore (on the Road to Hana).  The “surfer” town of Paia is a throw back to the 60’s.  We relaxed, ate and enjoyed the island sites.

IMG_1628

full moon – from the deck of the Bicycle Inn

Took the famous Road to Hana drive, stopping at various waterfalls, hiking through a local farmers property.

IMG_1629 IMG_1632 IMG_1645 IMG_1654

We watched surfers on various beaches and soaked up some sunshine.

IMG_1798 IMG_1789 IMG_1797 IMG_1762 IMG_1749

On the way home we spent a few days in Venice Beach with Jene’s friends, Bill and Judy.  It was a pleasure getting to know them.  Rented a car and toured the area where Jene used to live, the beaches and The Getty Museum.  Ate, drank and were merry.

 

 

 

 

About maryduranteyoutt

Necessity is the mother of invention... I parlayed my work experience into my personal endeavors of photography and print- making. At the age of 56, I retired and pursued my dreams once again. Photography is my passion; I want you, the viewer to come into my world. My images will connect to you and touch each of you differently and they will have you walk away with your own version of the story I started…I try to capture the feel, the essence - the very being of my subject, whether it's a portrait of a child, a friend or a stranger. In my cityscapes, I want you to hear the footsteps on a quiet street or to look closely at the ordinary moments that we all tend to rush past without stopping to notice. This is how I look at life, at the intimate details that sometimes go unnoticed: the bright smile of a child, the hardships that some people have witnessed, the sheer joy of a dancer or the beauty of nature when you take a closer look. This is what I want to share and that is why I will continue on my path.
This entry was posted in California, Hawaii, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

