On the road again… soon

 

This is a file from the Wikimedia Commons.

This is a file from the Wikimedia Commons.

We were only home 5 days from our trip to Hawaii with the granddaughters, when Jene launched the plan for our next great adventure…  We previously discussed going to Oklahoma for the Labor Day weekend’s annual Choctaw Native American Pow-wow.  Something we missed on our last road trip across the states 3 years ago.  Wow – was it really 3 years ago.  We were on the road for 28 days.

 

_MG_0307

A couple shots from the Cosby Pow-Wow we happened upon in 2011_MG_9682

Jene and I have spent so much time, effort and money on restoring a 1970 Cougar XR7 convertible over the last 5 or 6 years  It’s purpose was to enjoy and it has spent far too much time in the garage.  ???  Will we be taking it out for a breath of fresh air.    (It is back in the shop –  leaking transmission fluid — again, after we had the transmission replaced. And then there’s the short circuit issue of the battery draining after a day of just sitting there!  The ’67 has made the trip before BUT the laid back seat is not comfortable for the long haul and I’d rather take my Mazda if the money pit is not up for the trip.

Screen shot 2014-08-06 at 8.51.49 AM

The trip changes daily as Jene plots out the route.  Hmmmm, should we head north to Glacier National Park, dipping down to Zion and Bryce Canyon.  We’ve both been to The Grand Canyon, but not together, add that to the list of places to share along the way.

We start off modestly with just a few destinations and then it mushrooms as we get deeper into the planning stages.  Jene’s been to Glacier before.  As a couple we tried hitting Glacier when we took our cross country rail trip but the roads were closed for the season, same happened when we ventured by auto the next year.   I hoped upon hope that the third attempt will be the charmer.  But Jene is now talking about a separate trip northward since most of what we want to see is south of Montana.   “whatEVER”, it doesn’t matter to me,  it will be an amazing adventure and there’s is something about communing with nature.

I wish we could take the grandchildren along with us.   I know they would be up for the adventure but cheer/tumbling practice and the onslaught of school will prohibit that.  To share the sunrise at the Grand Canyon or the beauty of the wilderness and nature would be totally spectacular.

It’s time to make our lists, check all the gear –  reapply the seam sealer,  buy tanks for the Coleman stove, and to DREAM.

 

 

About maryduranteyoutt

Necessity is the mother of invention... I parlayed my work experience into my personal endeavors of photography and print- making. At the age of 56, I retired and pursued my dreams once again. Photography is my passion; I want you, the viewer to come into my world. My images will connect to you and touch each of you differently and they will have you walk away with your own version of the story I started…I try to capture the feel, the essence - the very being of my subject, whether it's a portrait of a child, a friend or a stranger. In my cityscapes, I want you to hear the footsteps on a quiet street or to look closely at the ordinary moments that we all tend to rush past without stopping to notice. This is how I look at life, at the intimate details that sometimes go unnoticed: the bright smile of a child, the hardships that some people have witnessed, the sheer joy of a dancer or the beauty of nature when you take a closer look. This is what I want to share and that is why I will continue on my path.
This entry was posted in Great American National Parks, photography, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

